Districts

The Sam Houston Area Council is divided into 24 geographic districts. Each district is served by at least one professional staff member -- district executive and/or district director. The district executive or director leads teams of hundreds of adult volunteer leaders in providing a Scouting program to the youth members in the community. The fax number for all districts is (713) 865-9149.



 

District Location and Boundaries Contact  
Aldine Pathfinder  Aldine ISD. Victor Benavides, District Executive
(713) 598-6489
victor.benavides@scouting.org
 
Aquila  Southwest area of the Houston ISD attendance zones of Harris County, including Sharpstown, Bellaire, Meyerland, and Braes Oak. Andrew Lange, District Executive
713-689-8753
andrew.lange@scouting.org
 
Arrowhead Fort Bend ISD attendance zone north of US-59 in Fort Bend County and Alief ISD, inner city of Houston, Northern parts of the city, Sunnyside area, Houston Housing Authority, selected city parks and selected schools in Houston ISD.
*North Star and Tatanka District merged on 8/1/18.
Vacant

Contact: Brian McGuire, Field Director
713-756-3358
 
Arrowmoon  Anderson-Shiro, Bryan, Caldwell, College Station, Madisonville County Navasota and Richards School District. Vacant, District Executive

Contact: Chris Reynolds, Field Director
713-756-3335
 
Big Cypress  Northwest area of the Cy-Fair ISD attendance zones of Harris County, including Cypress, Bridgeland and Fairfield. Regina Gervin, Senior District Executive
(713) 598-7571
regina.gervin@scouting.org
 
Brahman  Matagorda, Wharton and Colorado Counties. Vacant

Contact Chris Reynolds, Field Director
713-756-3335
 
Brazos  Lamar CISD and Needville ISD attendance zones in Fort Bend County. Greg Dettloff, District Executive
(713) 689-4857
greg.dettloff@scouting.org
 
Copperhead  Southwest side of the Cypress-Fairbanks ISD south of West Rd and west of Eldridge Pkwy. Brendan Cronin, Senior District Executive
(713) 598-7054
brendan.cronin@scouting.org
 
David Crockett  Bellville, Brazos. Brenham, Burton, Hempstead, Sealy, Somerville and Waller ISD Donald Galiley, District Executive
(979) 204-2826
donald.galiley@scouting.org
 
Flaming Arrow  Splendora, New Caney, Huffman and Humble ISD. Candace Skinner, District Executive
(713) 598-4954
candace.skinner@scouting.org
  
George Strake  Conroe (north of the San Jacinto River), Huntsville, Montgomery, New Waverly, Trinity and Willis ISD. Arelis Moreno, District Executive
(713) 726-6961
arelis.moreno@scouting.org
 
Iron Horse  Spring and Klein ISD (east of Kuykendahl) located North of Houston in Spring, TX. John David (JD) Wahrlich, District Executive
(713) 598-6473
johndavid.wahrlich@scouting.org
 
Mustang  Spring Branch ISD and Houston ISD schools north of Westheimer and outside of Beltway 8. Ashley Rex, Senior District Executive
(713) 560-0024
ashley.rex@scouting.org
 
North Star  North Star and Tatanka District merged to form Arrowhead.    
Orion  Tomball and Magnolia School Districts located Northwest of Houston. Keith Cutler, District Executive
(713) 689-9061
keith.cutler@scouting.org
 
Phoenix  Klein ISD (west of Kuykendahl) located North of Houston and east of Highway 249. Cristal Razo, District Executive
(713) 679-8267
cristal.razo@scouting.org
  
Raven  Houston, Barbers Hill, Galena Park, Goose Creek CISD, Channelview, Crosby, Sheldon ISDs, and other schools around East Houston, Galena Park, Baytown, Crosby, Channelview, Sheldon, Mont Belvieu area. Erica Gillette, District Executive
(713) 598-5829
erica.gillette@scouting.org
 
San Jacinto  Clear Creek ISD, Deer Park ISD and La Porte ISD and the Pasadena area. Vacant, contact:
Jake Olsen, Field Director
jake.olsen@scouting.org
 
Skyline  Houston ISD schools in Garden Oaks, Oak Forest, Acres Homes, the Heights, Independence Heights, North side of Downtown Houston, Magnolia, Denver Harbor, Wallisville Road and Port of Houston area. Lauren Young, District Executive
(713) 689-9703
lauren.young@scouting.org
 
Soaring Eagle  Eastern Area of Cy-Fair ISD attendance zones of Harris County. Vacant

Contact Michael Collins
 
Tall Timbers  Conroe ISD (south of the San Jacinto River) which serves The Woodlands, Oak Ridge, and Shenandoah. Mary Welch, Senior District Executive
(713) 805-7754
mary.welch@scouting.org
 
Tatanka  Tatanka and North Star Districts merged to form Arrowhead.    
Texas Skies  Katy ISD and Royal ISD schools in Katy and Brookshire, TX. Juan Hernandez, District Director
(713) 726-6109
juan.hernandez@scouting.org
  
Thunder Wolf  Fort Bend ISD attendance zone South of US-59n and Stafford MSD in Fort Bend County. Monica Carroll, Senior District Executive
(713) 598-7426
monica.carroll@scouting.org
  
Twin Bayou  Southwest area of Houston ISD attendance zones of Harris County, including West University, Tanglewilde, River Oaks, Upper Kirby, Neartown, Galleria, Tanglewood and Westchase. Angelita Guerrero, Senior District Executive
(713) 598-4795
angelita.guerrero@scouting.org
 
W.L. Davis South Region of the Houston ISD, Inner City of Houston Area, Third Ward, Sunnyside, and Hiram Clarke area, Houston ISD schools, including Magnolia, Denver Harbor, Port of Houston and the Wallisville Road area. Roger Thomas, District Executive
(832) 289-3488
roger.thomasIII@scouting.org
 

Council Programs

Colonneh Lodge  The Colonneh Lodge, Order of the Arrow is the national honor society of the Boy Scouts of America.  Contacts  
Exploring Exploring is Learning for Life’s career education program to help young people mature and to prepare them to become responsible and caring adults.  Contacts  
Powder Horn Powder Horn is an action-packed, hands-on, six-day course which helps Scouts and Scouters learn how to implement high adventure activities into their troop, crew or ship. Contacts  
Scouts with DisAbilities and Special Needs The Disabilities Awareness Committee is committed to making Scouting accessible and enjoyable to all Scouts, regardless of their abilities.  Contacts  
Sea Scouts Sea Scouts is a specialized program that focuses on water high adventure and personal development. Contacts  
STEM Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) are considered by many to be the foundation of an advanced society. A variety of awards that incorporate learning with cool activities and exposure to STEM are available.  Contacts  
Venturing Venturing is a youth development program that provides positive experiences to help young people mature and become responsible and caring adults.  Contacts  
Wood Badge Wood Badge is the premier adult leader training program in Scouting.  Contacts