Council Recognition Reception

November 28, 2017, 7:30 pm
Chapelwood United Methodist Church
11140 Greenbay St., Houston TX 77024

The Council Recognition Reception is held annually to honor the recipients of the Silver Beaver Award and Heroism Awards. Join your fellow Scouters in recognizing the recipients of the Silver Beaver Award, the highest award a council can bestow on a volunteer Scouter.

Silver Beaver Award

The Silver Beaver Award is the highest form of recognition that a local council can bestow on a volunteer. In 1931, BSA President Mortimer L. Schiff recommended to the national board that an award be devised for recognition of distinguished service to youth in the area of a local council, and the concept of the Silver Beaver Award recognition was established.

The Sam Houston Area Council has participated in this recognition program since its inception, presenting Silver Beaver Awards in 1931 to W. A. Childress and to E. A. Hudson. Beginning with those first two awards, more than 1,500 adult leaders in our council have been recognized in this manner. Nominations for the Silver Beaver Award are due annually on May 1st.

Silver Beaver Nomination Form                Complete list of Silver Beaver Recipients

2016 Silver Beaver Recipients

Recipient District
Susie Becvar Phoenix
Bill Breetz Council
Walter Brookhart Mustang
David Brown Orion
Rodger Brown Skyline
Simone Brown Skyline
Victor Burk Council
Michael Campbell Iron Horse
Neal Farmer Soaring Eagle
Duane Gaither Council
Karan Garske San Jacinto
Stephen Greenwade Tall Timbers
Susan Hansen Mustang
Kevin Henao Tall Timbers
Magdaleno Jaramillo Orion
James Kennedy Phoenix
Walter Luckett Brazos
Denise Milby Orion
Michael Narvaez Phoenix
Guy Allen Parker Thunder Wolf
Mark Randall Iron Horse
William Repman Raven
Mike Sheets Big Cypress
Stephen Sheward Tall Timbers
Steve Smallwood Orion
Gordon Start Aquila
Bob Steubing Big Cypress
Bobby Ray Williams, Jr. David Crockett
Richard Williams Arrowmoon
Danny Wilson Aldine Pathfinder



For more information, contact the council recognition committee.