2021 Silver Beaver Award Recipients

Posted by Darlene Scheffler Thursday, October 21, 2021 7:00:00 PM

The Silver Beaver Award is the highest form of recognition that a local council can bestow on a volunteer. In 1931, BSA President Mortimer L. Schiff recommended to the national board that an award be devised for recognition of distinguished service to youth in the area of a local council, and the concept of the Silver Beaver Award recognition was established.

The Sam Houston Area Council has participated in this recognition program since its inception, presenting Silver Beaver Awards in 1931 to W. A. Childress and to E. A. Hudson. Beginning with those first two awards, more than 1,500 adult leaders in our council have been recognized in this manner.

Congratulations to the 2021 Silver Beaver Recipients. The awards will be presented at the Council Recognition Reception

2021 Silver Beaver Recipients

The Silver Beaver is an award given to those who implement the Scouting program and perform community service through hard work, self-sacrifice, dedication, and many years of service. Members of this year’s class are:

Brian Boling  
Jose Chapela
Doug Dailey
Alyssa Hightower
Jim Jolly
Troy Meinen
Junior Raimond
Melissa Spears
Gidget Swift
Merrie Thomas
Bruce Tough
Clay Williams
Ronny Zapata

   Complete list of Silver Beaver Recipients

Council Recognition Reception

January 8, 2022  |  10:00 am

Cockrell Scout Center  2225 North Loop West Houston, TX 77008

The Council Recognition Reception is held annually to honor the recipients of the Silver Beaver Award and Heroism Awards. Join your fellow Scouters in recognizing the recipients of the Silver Beaver Award, the highest award a council can bestow on a volunteer Scouter. 


For more information, contact the council recognition committee