The Varsity Scout requirements for rank advancement are the same as for Boy Scouts. However, the advancement program is supervised by a youth member called an advancement program manager, who is assisted by an adult on the team committee.

Any young man from 14 to 18 years old may participate in this program for older Boy Scouts. Varsity Scouting offers five program fields of emphasis: advancement, high adventure, personal development, service, and special programs and events. Each of these programs is led by a member of the team called a program manager, who receives assistance from a member of the team committee.

Position of responsibility requirements for Star and Life ranks may be met by a Varsity Scout serving as a team captain, co-captain, program manager, squad leader, team secretary, Order of the Arrow troop representative, librarian, historian, quartermaster, chaplain aide, instructor, den chief or in other leadership roles assigned by the Coach. (Historian and coach assigned role are not acceptable towards Eagle Scout rank.)

The Varsity Scout Coach will conduct a Coach conference in place of the Scoutmaster's conference.  As a Varsity Scout meets the requirements for each rank, a board of review is conducted by the team committee member responsible for advancement, the advancement program manager, and the Varsity Scout Coach for all ranks except Eagle Scout. The Eagle Scout board of review follows the procedure established by the district advancement committee.

Varsity or Venturing Patrol Letter and Pins

By participating actively in all phases of the Varsity program or Boy Scout troop Venturing patrol, you are entitled to receive the official Varsity or Venturing Letter, and wear it on the Scout jacket and/or Merit Badge sash. Requirements for earning the Letter follow:

The Varsity letter may be earned by youth and adult members. The youth requirements are:

  1. Be a registered Varsity Scout team member.
  2. While a team member, actively participate in or accomplish at least one high-adventure program or sports program to the satisfaction of your Varsity Scout coach.
  3. Have an attendance record at team meetings and practice sessions of at least 75 percent for three consecutive months.
  4. Satisfy the Varsity Scout coach that you know and live by the Scout Oath and Law.

At the completion of each sports season or ultimate adventure, each participating Varsity Scout will receive a medallion to wear on the letter.   There are no specific requirements for the various pins. Basically, a Scout must earn the Letter, then complete the sport or "ultimate adventure" to get the pin.

Denali Award

The Denali Award is available only to a Varsity Scout team’s youth members who have already earned the Varsity Scout letter. Denali is the name American Indians gave Mount McKinley, in central Alaska. The requirements for the award are:

  1. Be a registered Varsity Scout team member.
  2. Advance one rank toward Eagle. If you are already an Eagle Scout, earn a Palm.
  3. Hold leadership positions in a Varsity Scout team for at least six months.
  4. a) While serving as team captain or a program manager, act as primary leader on at least two activities. Program managers should choose activities in their field of emphasis. Team captains may be primary leaders of activities in any of the five fields of emphasis.
    b) While serving as a program manager or team captain, demonstrate shared leadership skills by participating in supportive roles in activities in each of the three remaining fields of emphasis.
  5. Satisfy the team captain that you know and live by the Varsity Scout pledge.
  6. Complete a progress review.

Special Opportunities for Varsity Scouts

In addition to rank requirements and merit badges, Varsity Scouts may earn a number of other badges and awards.

Hiking Awards

Conservation Awards

Aquatic Emblems

Other Awards and Emblems


For additional information, contact your district advancement chair.