Silver Beaver Recipients Announced

Posted by Darlene Scheffler Monday, August 21, 2017 9:22:00 AM

The Silver Beaver Award is the highest form of recognition that a local council can bestow on a volunteer. In 1931, BSA President Mortimer L. Schiff recommended to the national board that an award be devised for recognition of distinguished service to youth in the area of a local council, and the concept of the Silver Beaver Award recognition was established.

The Sam Houston Area Council has participated in this recognition program since its inception, presenting Silver Beaver Awards in 1931 to W. A. Childress and to E. A. Hudson. Beginning with those first two awards, more than 1,500 adult leaders in our council have been recognized in this manner.

The Silver Beaver awards will be presented at the Council Recognition Reception on November 28, 2017.

2017 Silver Beaver Recipients

Recipient District
Robert Ausmus Orion / Soaring Eagle
Russell Carman Tall Timbers
Michael Cawley Phoenix
Patricia Chapela Iron Horse
Donna Coselli Texas Skies
Joseph Dante Texas Skies
Ray Duerer Orion
Cynthia Edwards W.L. Davis
Kerin Farrell Phoenix
Sergio Fernandez Phoenix
Robert Fuglaar Brazos
Joan Gorney Orion
Dana Harkey Mustang
Roger Hoover Thunder Wolf
Richard Lipham Big Cypress / Copperhead / Iron Horse
Eugene Manuel Big Cypress
Bill Peel Council board
Angela Repman Raven
Timothy Richard Thunder Wolf
Bob Roy Council board
David Rudzinski Thunder Wolf
Douglas Sivula Tall Timbers
Wendel Skolaski Council board
Steve Strake Council board
Carl Soderland San Jacinto
Howard Tomlinson David Crockett
Thien Tran Big Cypress
Tina Turner North Star
Kelley Whitehead Raven



For more information, contact the council recognition committee.





Comments are closed on this post.