Council Recognition Reception

Posted by Darlene Scheffler Thursday, August 16, 2018 7:00:00 PM

November 27, 2018, 7:30 pm

Chapelwood United Methodist Church
11140 Greenbay St., Houston TX 77024

The Council Recognition Reception is held annually to honor the recipients of the Silver Beaver Award and Heroism Awards. Join your fellow Scouters in recognizing the recipients of the Silver Beaver Award, the highest award a council can bestow on a volunteer Scouter. The William H. Spurgeon III Award and Lifesaving and Meritorious Awards are also presented.

Silver Beaver Award

The Silver Beaver Award is the highest form of recognition that a local council can bestow on a volunteer. In 1931, BSA President Mortimer L. Schiff recommended to the national board that an award be devised for recognition of distinguished service to youth in the area of a local council, and the concept of the Silver Beaver Award recognition was established.

The Sam Houston Area Council has participated in this recognition program since its inception, presenting Silver Beaver Awards in 1931 to W. A. Childress and to E. A. Hudson. Beginning with those first two awards, more than 1,500 adult leaders in our council have been recognized in this manner. 

2018 Silver Beaver Recipients

Linda L. Arnold  

Dana C. Beebe   

Mathis W. Burt  

Charles Andrew Calderwood       

Daniel W. Cawthon         

Karla T. Christian              

Carolyn Dianne Clarkston              

Bennett Hugh Corpening              

Dale Fitz               

John Fortier        

John E.  Gorney 

Rose M. Griffith-Bracher               

Arthur W. Grove              

Kimberly L. Henderson-Gossett 

Theodore R. Kell               

Michael John McGinty   

Steven D. Oldham            

Frank A. Parent 

Michael Eugene Robinson            

Stephen Peter Rollings   

Travis William Seppanen              

Patrick Michael Weisbrod, Sr.

Hunter Zigmond Werlla 

Ronald Dennis Wiehle    

Sandra Andres Wiehle   

Bobby Ray Williams, Sr.

Timothy John Yagley 



For more information, contact the council recognition committee.


Comments are closed on this post.